Installing on Windows 10

Meeting place for IL2 fans and those using Inspire's dedicated IL2 server.

Moderators: CadMan, Smokey Joe

Installing on Windows 10

Postby syncop8r » Wed Nov 09, 2016 8:57 pm

OK, so I have the stock 4.07m running on Windows 10. It has been a long time since i did this, so what are my next steps?
Correct me if I'm wrong:

- Make a copy of the IL2 folder.
- On one version, apply the megapatch which will take it up to 4.12.2m, then smaller patches up to 4.13.2m so that I have the latest stock version.
- On the other version, apply Ultrapack (if that's what we're using these days) which patches up to 4.101m then adds the mods. Copy shortcut to desktop of exe file.

Anything I'm missing?

A couple of other issues I have:

- Getting the best resolution for a 24" monitor that isn't s-t-r-e-t-c-h-e-d.
- My internet connection isn't great (sharing someone else's and I'm on the edge of it's coverage) but it's usually not working at all on the new computer - I think it's something in the connection settings...
syncop8r
 
Posts: 601
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2008 9:33 pm
Location: Christchurch

Re: Installing on Windows 10

Postby Woody01 » Fri Nov 11, 2016 12:11 pm

Follow Beepee's guide above...

viewtopic.php?f=6&t=6060

And come and join us at simcentral, did you get the memo?

As for monitor settings, go to your config.ini file and right at the top it will look like this

[window]
width=1920
height=1080
ColourBits=32
DepthBits=24
StencilBits=8
ChangeScreenRes=1
FullScreen=1
DrawIfNotFocused=0
EnableResize=0
EnableClose=1
SaveAspect=0
Use3Renders=0

Set the width and height to your monitors settings.

Sorry cant help with the net stuff...
User avatar
Woody01
 
Posts: 2671
Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2006 8:09 pm
Location: Rangiora

Re: Installing on Windows 10

Postby syncop8r » Sat Nov 12, 2016 10:40 pm

Cheers Woody. Yeah I'm going through Beepee's guide....was just double checking as it's been a while since I have done this kinda stuff.

The monitor thing wasn't working on my stock version but is now working on the to-be-modded with UP version.

Applied mega patch to stock to get up to 4.12.2m, not working.

For the UP version, mega patch to 4.10.1m was successful, however it did say some dlls could not be deleted. Currently downloading Ultrapack files.....

Interweb issue seems to be resolved in one respect, but still very poor connection.
syncop8r
 
Posts: 601
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2008 9:33 pm
Location: Christchurch

Re: Installing on Windows 10

Postby syncop8r » Mon Nov 14, 2016 2:37 pm

UP splash screen is only up for a second then crashes.
syncop8r
 
Posts: 601
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2008 9:33 pm
Location: Christchurch


Return to IL2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron